2018 Call for Funding for EFINORD – SNS networking activities


Call for networks with activities in 2019 

The call is open from March 1st to June 1st 2018.
Call text
Application form
Submit the application form to sns@slu.se June 1st 2018, at the latest.


Nordic Forest Research (SNS) and the North European Regional Office of European Forest Institute (EFINORD) collaborate to support forest research networks on an annual basis. 

The aim is to promote North European synergies within forest research and to establish closer collaboration between forest research communities in the Nordic, Baltic Sea and the North Atlantic regions. The network should involve participants from at least three Nordic* countries and three other countries in the EFINORD** area.

The networks shall be relevant in a Nordic-Baltic setting and the  expected outputs can include for example; networking, arranging workshops, seminars or open conferences, producing large-scale project applications or designing policy recommendations based on research findings.

The networks are expected to contribute to the strategic goals of SNS and EFINORD. Both organisations share a common goal of supporting research in sustainable forest management.

The networks should cover topics within; sustainable forest management in a growing  bioeconomy, maintenance and utilisation of  ecosystem services or  climate change mitigation and adaptation.

The network must have an even gender distribution (40-60% gender balance) and female coordinators are encouraged to apply for funding. The network shall include and involve PhD students/young researchers.

The total budget of the call is 1 000 000 SEK. A network is funded over the course of one year and the applied amount per network should be approximately  100 000-200 000 SEK. A self-financing component of at minimum 50% of the total budget of the network is required.


* Nordic is defined here as Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden and the autonomous areas, Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Åland Islands.  ** The EFINORD also includes Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, NW Russia, Poland, Northern Germany, Northern UK, Ireland.